These will be the healthiest months of your life…

02-09_07-57-23

…as Don Nelson puts it, and I completely agree. This Monday I began working out with Don Nelson in the midday sun (la forma de ejercicio típica en america, here where 30°C is not warm) . The plan is everyday for one hour. Sounds simple and, well, healthy. BUT, sadly there is always a but. 1. its at one o’clock in the afternoon with the midday sun boiling down on the courtyard where the exercises take place. 2. I am completely out of shape, a fact I have successfully been denying myself (what can you expect after  3 months of no sport at all) and 3. I am missing the right shoes.

So what is the result of all this: feet full of blisters, muscle aches all over my body and the absolute exhaustion! Fun stuff.

If a man achieves victory over this body, who in the world can exercise power over him? He who rules himself rules over the whole world – Vinoba Bhave

I am hoping for all of this to lead to something better; which it probably will, but currently its more like hell on earth. A good thing I got Don Nelson pushing me, without him I would have ended this after the first 5 minutes during Monday’s session. Mama, wans de dat hei lies, scheck deem nexten dee kent meng sport schong mat w.e.g.! (an io ech wees du wolls se schon schecken me ech haat ne gesoot..me dir kennt mech io ne?!) MerciSmile

Boah, but as always, its for the greater good. Wise, very wise…

If it weren’t for the fact that the TV set and the refrigerator are so far apart, some of us wouldn’t get any exercise at all – Joey Adams

Thinking about it, this is really the only time in my life where I have the exercise-posterspossibility to be healthy. Here at the Hogar there is no stress, there is time for exercises, and never any distracting TV’s or computer games around that leave you seated for hours on end. The meals are very healthy with no meat at all (didn’t realize this until last week, and to be honest, I am not missing it). A great possibility for me to work on those abs and stuff. Next comes university, I hope you (dear reader) are not seriously expecting me to be living a healthy life then? I can see it coming; energy drinks, late nights and lots and lots of microwave food. Yummy, right? Well I hope it won’t be that bad, but it surely won’t be much better. Reason enough to do as much as possible now to at least begin my uni-life as fit as possible.

But enough for today, I’m off to do some exercises!

He who has health, has hope; and he who has hope, has everything.

Day 45 – Santa Ana

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

