That which does not kill us makes us stronger

02-07_12-57-00

This weekend I got the chance to sit down a bit and think about my stay here. What are my objectives? And how am I planning on reaching them? were some of the questions I kept asking myself. I want this experience to fulfill me as far as possible; let me understand to the highest degree the situation of the children here and not just be an European observer. I want to leave the country feeling like a Salvadorian. As for this I decided on a few things and already talked to Don Oscar about doing them.

01-31_12-55-41

In Europe it would be called signing your death agreement; I decided to spend 1 month (or more) living EXACTLY like the kids here at the hogar. This means no phone, no computer, no internet, no ipod, and the list goes on. I will bring a towel, two pair of pants, 3 pairs of socks, 3 pairs of underwear, 3 t-shirts, toothbrush and toothpaste, a soap bar and my mosquito spray (one thing I couldn’t go without). And then for a month I will be living the experience of the children, at least as close to the real thing as possible. I hope this will help me understand the kids, understand their emotions and actions. Its gold worth to my experience as a whole. I will begin the first week of march, if not earlier.

01-27_10-43-32

I have asked Don Nelson to give me the same plates and glasses during eating times as well as jobs, like taking care of the dog (this week). I want to be closer to the children. Not only play with them, but also work and live with them, hand in hand. One thing I will probably not be able to change is drinking their water here. I already had some problems early into my stay when I ate an ice-cream made from the tap water here; a danger I oversaw by the delicious look of the ice-cream in that midday heat.

02-06_12-42-16

When talking to Don Oscar he told me that the next time the psychiatrist would go on home visit I could join here. This is something I’ve been craving to do. So far I have only been inside one home of an average Salvadorian, the drivers. This was already very interesting and impressive to see how he lives, but I still want to see more homes from the inside, meet more people to hear more stories. I can’t wait to go on my first home-visit!

Apart from this there were only a few minor changes; none of big significance.

Llegué como un objeto comercial que se produce en Europa; [el objetivo es] dejar que un ser humano: gracias a todo lujo y agradecida de todo lo básico. Un ser humano mejor.

Day 44 – Santa Ana

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “That which does not kill us makes us stronger

  1. laughwithlea says:

    When I was in El Salvador for two weeks, I stayed with a family in Guarjila, Chalatenango for five days and those were absolutely inspiring and extraordinary! Not only will you learn from them, but you will enjoy the experience a lot too, I hope! I still have mosquito bite/bruises on my hands. Haha, have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

