La Palma

01-24_13-13-21

On Monday morning I left for ‘La Palma’ with the group from Luxembourg. I was supposed to spend the week traveling with them, but due to some scheduling issues I wasn’t able to. Something I really regret as they are a fun hang out and it would have been interesting to spend more time with them. So I only headed off for a day trip to La Palma, a small pueblo in the mountains, close to the Honduras border. This pueblo is best known for its art; so one of the bigger tourist attractions here in El Salvador.

01-24_11-53-32

Sadly we only had around an hour to spend strolling the streets of La Palma (of which most ended up being wasted in stores themselves) as the group from Luxembourg were under time pressure to get a ferry to Sushitoto. In the stores themselves I felt like we where the only tourists in weeks. People were very eager on us to enter their store and look at their goods (which seldomly differed from surrounding stores). Dust was also settling on many of the objects. In a country with booming tourism this little village would have been highly popular, especially its art; but sadly this is not the case.

01-24_12-35-32

I bought myself a pen holder as well as a little box I know use to store my money. Mr. Scholer used this occasion to buy stock for the many fundraising sales the Fundacion has in Luxembourg. Objects from La Palma are of high demand back home! But sadly this was the reason I didn’t get to see much of the village itself. Here I must add that I have some 4 months left to revisit La Palma; a trip I am likely to undertake someday.

01-24_12-29-01

The People were very friendly; not only in the shops, but also on the streets. Thought that I must add that none of these people are used to a tall gringo like me. The stares follow me down the streets but I am starting to get used to it, something Salvadorians will probably never do.

01-24_12-29-16

I am still sad that I could not go with the group of Luxembourg to travel the country some more, but it does give me the time to fully prepare all my classes I will be beginning next week.

01-24_12-31-38

01-24_13-07-49

01-24_13-10-13

It was a energy taking trip (6 hours there and back for a stay of 1 hour) but I survived it well. I must also add that I like driving through El Salvador. What you get to see is both beautiful and very interesting. Such as the volcanic landscape and the ‘huts’ (sadly sometimes it doesn’t even seem right to say huts) that gather at the border of the streets. When we arrived back at the Hogar I was the first in bed, exhausted from the trip.

01-24_14-31-10

01-24_14-33-41

People build there homes wherever they find space and where it is free. This means along street borders or other dangerous places that are not meant for people to live. They put themselves in dangerous situations, but what other choice do they have?!

01-24_15-35-12

Driving on the Pan-American.

01-24_15-41-37

These so called huts.

01-24_15-56-44

01-24_09-57-45

Some people come up with creative ways to make money; here the (unofficial) traffic controller.

01-24_10-02-41

Mountainous view with, in the forefront, ashes of the San Salvador volcano eruption 100 years ago.

01-24_11-08-45

Another so called hut along side the Pan-Americana.

Oh, and this reminded me of the Schueberfouer (even thought I’d rather not risk my life going on the rides):

01-24_11-25-08

Luxembourg I do miss you dearly! (Even at night, when my dreams take control of my world, gunshots keep me reminded of where I am.)

Day 30 – La Palma

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

